The DREAM Centre for Doctoral Training’s principle asset is its people; our students, sponsors, industrial and academic supervisors, and the university staff who deliver the programme. Click on the groups below to find out more.


Key DREAM CDT staff

Cranfield University
Professor Simon Pollard Centre Champion
Dr Stephen Hallett Director (Cranfield)
Dr Simon Jude Centre Operations Manager (Cranfield)
Savina Velotta Management Board Secretary


Newcastle University
Professor Chris Kilsby Director (Newcastle)
Dr Stuart Barr Director (Newcastle)


The University of Cambridge
Dr Mike Bithell Director (Cambridge)


The University of Birmingham
Professor Roy Harrison OBE Director (Birmingham)
Dr Emmanouil Tranos Director (Birmingham)


Industrial Advisory Board (IndAB)
Stephen J. Harris Chair, Industrial Advisory Board. Senior Vice President, Marsh Marine Practice
Rob Sharpe Industrial Advisory Boardmember. Customer Success Group Programme Manager, Esri UK
Dr Arthur Thornton Industrial Advisory Boardmember. Associate Director: Research & Innovation, Atkins
Professor John Rees Industrial Advisory Boardmember. Director of Science for Earth Hazards, Observatories, BGS
Nathan Cunningham Industrial Advisory Boardmember. Functional Director for Big Data Network Support, UK Data Service
Savina Velotta IndAB Board Secretary


International Advisory Board (IntAB)
Dr Arwyn Jones Chair, International Advisory Board. European commission, Directorate-General Joint Research Centre
Professor Mitchell J. Small International Advisory Boardmember. Professor of Environmental Engineering, Carnigie Mellon University, USA
Professor Kye-Hoon John Kim International Advisory Boardmember. Professor of Soils, University of Seoul, South Korea
Associate Professor, Dr Jason Prior International Advisory Boardmember. Associate Professor, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology, Sydney
Savina Velotta IntAB Board Secretary


Centre Secretariat
Angela Colclough Centre Administrator
Jason Carvalho Webmaster


For centre-wide general enquiries, please contact